top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmma Jefferson

Week 8

This week has been hot, and I mean super hot! Not in the 90's, but it's been humid enough to feel uncomfortable. I got to do a few fun things this week, which I will detail below.


- I went on a tour + admissions meeting at WSU's campus in Pullman, WA. It was funny to me how a vet school is both a normal college and a super high-tech vet hospital. There were students in scrubs lounging in conference rooms eating chips and working on the computer, but there were also rooms full of working vets doing surgery and X-rays (as well as many other things).


- I spent two days presenting for Puget Sound WildCare at Covington Days in Covington, WA. It was a bog-standard summer festival, but it was a good opportunity for me to show off some of the kittens from the shelter and try to find adopters. The pre-vet interns all collaborated on a huge trifold with pictures and descriptions of all the cats in our care. We also had three kittens who were there during the day. Crackhead sisters Matilda and Tina were there in the morning, and sweet kitten Ace was there in the afternoon. The wildlife sound of Puget Sound WildCare also had a representative ( one of the wildlife rehab interns), so we had quite a lot to say to people. I was able to give away 10 adoption applications. I hope at least one of them turns into an adoption.


- I've been helping with more kitten adoptions and kitten marketing. Half of our tiny feral kittens have come down with an URI (upper respiratory infection), so I have been responsible for medicating them. I was also responsible for calculating the medication dose based on their weight, which is a lot of responsibility, even though I just had to do some basic math. This stuff is important!


- I started spending time taking our blind/disabled kitty Stella Luna outside. She was only fed cow milk as a young kitten, which cats can't digest because they are lactose intolerant. This gave her a lot of problems with her eyes and bones, since they didn't develop correctly. Stella has been staying in the vet clinic for the last month, because her foster mom had to move apartments after a bunch of mold was discovered behind her wall. I was worried that Stella doesn't get enough interaction or stimulation, so I started taking her to the park next to the clinic while I eat lunch. She looks so lively and happy in the grass!


- This week had been mostly quiet, since I took Thurs/Fri off instead of Weds/Thurs, because WSU only does admissions meetings on Friday >:(

That means I only had a four-day work week, which was great, since I'm pooped.



Stella in the park!

Front desk snuggies

Ace at Covington Days!




14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 9

Week 7

Week 6

bottom of page